BROKER CONTINUING EDUCATION AUDIT

The Department of Consumer Protection is in the process of auditing Real Estate Broker’s compliance with
continuing education requirements for the 2012 renewal. If you received an audit letter requesting a response,
please following the instructions below.

While all schools were required to report the attendance of continuing education courses to PSI, a subcontractor
collecting data for this department, there is a variety of reasons a licensee’s education may not have been
captured in the report provided to us. Therefore, we require that you follow the guidelines below and respond
accordingly. You will only receive a response from us if your submission was NOT acceptable.

The required courses for 2012 renewal were:

9 hours of real estate elective courses
3 hours of (mandatory course) CT Real Estate Agent Fiduciary Duties Review and Law Update

Instructions for looking up schools and courses can be found on our website at
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1629&q=441870

Note: Courses previously applied to your 2010 CE compliance cannot be credited toward 2012.

Please scan and forward your CE Certificates via e-mail to DCP.RealEstateAudit@CT.GOV or fax to (860) 707-
1968. Please indicate your name and license number in the subject line. You will only receive a response from

us if your submission was NOT acceptable. Should we not receive a satisfactory response from you, a
compliance meeting will be automatically scheduled requiring your attendance.

EXEMPTIONS TO CONTINUING EDUCATION:

e BROKERS: If you passed a licensing examination with PSI during the 2012 CE Cycle (4/1/2010 —
3/31/2012) you are exempt from completing 2012 Continuing Education. (Please note that this
exemption is NOT based upon when you became licensed, but rather, when you passed the licensing

examination).

In the above scenario, simply respond that you are exempt due to passing of a licensing examination
during the CE audit period.

e RECIPROCAL LICENSE HOLDERS: If you were licensed in another state on 3/31/2012 AND completed all
of the continuing education most recently required by that state, you are exempt from completing
Connecticut’s Continuing Education.

In this case, you should submit evidence of being an active license holder in another state on
3/31/2012 along with copies of your most recent Continuing Education Certificates.

If however, you are exempt from completing the continuing education for another state that you are licensed,
you ARE NOT exempt from completing the Connecticut Continuing Education, as Connecticut does not exempt
any licensee.




EDUCATION NOT COMPLETED DURING THE CE CYCLE (4/1/2010-3/31/2012) or prior to renewal

If you renewed your license after 3/31/2012 your information would not have been captured in the report and
you must submit the certificates to us as described above.

If you renewed your license prior to completing all of the required continuing education, you were NOT in
compliance at the time of renewal. If you wish to retain your license, you must submit all required continuing
education certificates evidencing completion AND mail in a check for $250 as a civil penalty for non-compliance.
The check should be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” and be mailed to Department of
Consumer Protection, Kelly Harvey, 165 Capitol Ave., Hartford, CT 06106.

If you no longer wish to retain your license, simply return your license to the department and email a response
indicating that you “wish to surrender your license in lieu of completing 2012 CE and paying civil penalty”. Your
license will be inactivated. If at any time in the future you wish to obtain a CT Real Estate License you will be
required to show evidence of completion of the 2012 CE and pay the $250 civil penalty prior to your application
being considered.



